VARIOUS – DAY OF THE DEAD (Released 9th September)

£149.99 – x 10 Limited multi coloured LP Boxset

A Grateful Dead Tribute Benefiting The Red Hot Organization “ Despite its length and the number of contributors, it is richly enjoyable and remarkably coherent. ”The Guardian ‘Album of the Week’ ****“The sweetest love letter.. . Deadheads will adore it;the uncoverted may find themselves a lot more Dead- curious.”Record Collector ‘Album of the Month’ ****“ Both a fine showcase of the Dead’s iconic songs and a who’s who of current indie rock. ” Pitchfork (8.1) A celebration of the Grateful Dead’s music, Day of the Dead was created and curated by Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National. Already available on CD, the 10 LP boxset will be ready for shipping this September.

Featuring an incredible cast list, the compilation is a wide-ranging tribute to the songwriting and experimentalism of The Dead which took four years to record, and features over 60 artists from varied musical backgrounds, 59 tracks and is almost 6 hours long. Produced by Aaron Dessner, and co-produced by Bryce Dessner and

Josh Kaufman, many of the tracks feature an all-star house band made up of Aaron, Bryce, fellow National bandmates Scott and Bryan Devendorf, Josh Kaufman, and Conrad Doucette along with Sam Cohen and Walter Martin. The record shows the broad reaching impact and legacy of the Grateful Dead, both culturally and musically.

All profits will be used to help fight for AIDS / HIV and related health issues around the world through the Red Hot Organization. This is the 20th album of original music produced by Red Hot,

with this album being the follow up to 2009’s Dark Was The Night a 32-track compilation also produced by Aaron and Bryce.

Since its release, Dark Was The Night has raised over $1.5 million for organizations fighting AIDS to date.


A1. The War on Drugs Touch of Grey

A2. Unknown Mortal Orchestra Shakedown Street

A3. Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends Loser

A4. This Is the Kit Jack-A-Roe

B1. The National Peggy-O

B2. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends Bird Song

B3. Hiss Golden Messenger Brown-Eyed Women

B4. Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends Sugaree


A1. Bela Fleck Help on the Way

A2. Orchestra Baobab Franklin’s Tower

A3. Vijay Iyer King Solomon’s Marbles

B1. Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis) Box of Rain

B2. Mumford & Sons Friend of the Devil

B3. Ira Kaplan & Friends Wharf Rat


A1. Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends Cassidy

A2. Jim James & Friends Candyman

A3. Orchestra Baobab Clementine Jam

B1. Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends Playing in the Band B2. Tal National Eyes of the World


A1. Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National

(featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion

and Brooklyn Youth Chorus) Terrapin Station (Suite)

B1. The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends Ship of Fools

B2. The Rileys Estimated Prophet

B3. The National Morning Dew


A1. The Lone Bellow & Friends Dire Wolf A2. Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks

China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider

A3. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy If I Had the World to Give

B1. Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends Dark Star

B2. Nightfall of Diamonds Nightfall of Diamonds

B3. The Flaming Lips Dark Star


A1. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends Rubin and Cherise

A2. Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura Althea

A3. Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends Mountains of the Moon

B1. Local Natives Stella Blue

B2. Phosphorescent & Friends Standing on the Moon

B3. Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends To Lay Me Down


A1. Lucius Uncle John’s Band

A2. Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear High Time

A3. The Lone Bellow & Friends Me and My Uncle

B1. Courtney Barnett New Speedway Boogie

B2. Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band Cumberland Blues

B3. Anohni and yMusic Black Peter

B4. Bill Callahan Easy Wind


A1. Real Estate Here Comes Sunshine

A2. Mina Tindle & Friends Rosemary

A3. Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida Drums -> Space

A4. Tim Hecker Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald

B1. s t a r g a z e What’s Become of the Baby B2. Bryce Dessner Garcia Counterpoint


A1. Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream

(featuring Garth Hudson) Brokedown Palace

A2. Luluc with Xylouris White Till the Morning Comes

A3. Angel Olsen Attics of My Life

B1. Fucked Up Cream Puff War B2. Marijuana Deathsquads Truckin’


A1. Lucinda Williams & Friends Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad

A2. Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison Black Muddy River

A3. The Walkmen Ripple

A4. Sam Amidon And We Bid You Goodnight

B1. Wilco with Bob Weir St. Stephen (live)

B2. The National with Bob Weir I Know You Rider (live)

Click and Collect

“Although there is no legal obligation to purchase this record, we hope and trust that you have made a commitment to collect and pay for this item in our shop. We have constructed this method of pre ordering to help provide a better service for you the loyal customer. It also helps us in buying the correct amount of records to stock, and by doing this we hope to pass on some great offers and incentives. If there are any delays, changes to price etc we will notify you by email and update you accordingly.

“By requesting our click & collect service you also agree to be added to our new release mailing list, meaning that from time to time you will receive emails notifying you of new or special vinyl releases before any one else. You can always opt out of these emails at a later date should you wish.

“Thanks for your support, and enjoy the music! - P&V”

Drop a file here or click to upload Choose File
Maximum upload size: 14.68MB