The Human League – Anthology – A Very British Synthesizer (Released 18th November)

£83.99 – x  3LP Info*see notes

  • Half Speed mastering by Miles Showell at Abbey Road studios
  • Includes a 20 Page booklet includes a new essay by David Buckley
  • Rare memorabilia and photographs.

“Anthology – A Very British Synthesizer Group” is the story of The Human League; no ordinary pop group.  Their co-founders have long gone. The lead singer continues the band with two women still known to many as ‘the girls.’ Variously, during their thirty-nine-year existence, they have included in their ranks a core member who initially played no instrument and contributed no sound; a tape machine taking the place of a human drummer centre-stage; two female singers who by their own admission couldn’t really sing (at least initially); and later in the group’s career a revolving-door policy of semi-permanent contributors, live and studio boffins who, although never legally credited as members of the band would, in essence, be part of The Human League.

To say this is the story of one pop group is misleading.  As Britain’s answer to Kraftwerk they were already interested in electronic music at the time the Dusseldorf band was making its breakthrough with Autobahn in 1975 and The Human League’s initial recordings date to early 1977 when Bowie released Low.

Back in the late Seventies and early Eighties, music wasn’t streamed or given away but sought out and championed.  This was the era of the ‘super-fan’, the people who followed and debated the merits of David Bowie, Roxy Music, The Sex Pistols, Kraftwerk, Giorgio Moroder, Michael Jackson… The Human League.

All formats contain 8 Top 10 singles including the Number 1 hit, Don’t You Want Me ( #1 in December 1981 ) and 6 Top 20 hits.

3LP Info

  • Half Speed mastering by Miles Showell at Abbey Road studios
  • Includes a 20 Page booklet includes a new essay by David Buckley
  • Rare memorabilia and photographs.





A1: Being Boiled – Fast Product Version

A2: The Dignity of Labour – Part 3

A3: Empire State Human

A4: Only After Dark

A5: Nightclubbing

A6: Boys and Girls


B1: The Sound Of The Crowd – Instrumental

B2: Hard Times

B3: Love Action ( I Believe In Love ) – Edit

B4: Open Your Heart

B5: Don’t You Want Me


C1: Mirror Man

C2: You remind Me Of Gold

C3: (Keep Feeling ) Fascination – Extended Version

C4: The Lebanon

C5: Louise – DJ Edit


D1: Love On Your Own

D2: Human – Extended Version

D3: I Need Your Loving – DJ Edit

D4: Love Is All That Matters – DJ Edit

D5: Heart Like A Wheel – William Orbit Remix


E1: Soundtrack To A Generation – Edit

E2: Tell Me When – Edit

E3: One Man In My Heart

E4: Filling Up With Heaven


F1: Stay With Me Tonight

F2: All I Ever Wanted – Radio Edit

F3: Night People – Radio Edit

F4: Never Let Me Go

F5: Sky – Radio Edit


Click and Collect

“Although there is no legal obligation to purchase this record, we hope and trust that you have made a commitment to collect and pay for this item in our shop. We have constructed this method of pre ordering to help provide a better service for you the loyal customer. It also helps us in buying the correct amount of records to stock, and by doing this we hope to pass on some great offers and incentives. If there are any delays, changes to price etc we will notify you by email and update you accordingly.

“By requesting our click & collect service you also agree to be added to our new release mailing list, meaning that from time to time you will receive emails notifying you of new or special vinyl releases before any one else. You can always opt out of these emails at a later date should you wish.

“Thanks for your support, and enjoy the music! - P&V”

Drop a file here or click to upload Choose File
Maximum upload size: 14.68MB