Billy Bragg & Joe Henry – Shine A Light: Field Recordings from the Great American Railroad (Released 23rd September)

£20.99 – LP

In March 2016 Billy Bragg and Joe Henry, guitars in hand, boarded a Los Angeles-bound train at Chicago’s Union Station looking to reconnect with the culture of American railroad travel and the music it inspired. Winding along 2,728 miles of track over four days, the pair recorded classic railroad songs in waiting rooms and at trackside while the train paused to pick up passengers.


1: Rock Island Line
2: The L&N Don’t Stop Here Anymore
3: The Midnight Special
4: Railroad Bill
5: Lonesome Whistle
6: Kc Moan
7: Waiting For A Train
8: In The Pines
9: Gentle On My Mind
10: Hobo’s Lullaby
11: Railroading On The Great Divide

12: John Henry

13: Early Morning Rain

Click and Collect

“Although there is no legal obligation to purchase this record, we hope and trust that you have made a commitment to collect and pay for this item in our shop. We have constructed this method of pre ordering to help provide a better service for you the loyal customer. It also helps us in buying the correct amount of records to stock, and by doing this we hope to pass on some great offers and incentives. If there are any delays, changes to price etc we will notify you by email and update you accordingly.

“By requesting our click & collect service you also agree to be added to our new release mailing list, meaning that from time to time you will receive emails notifying you of new or special vinyl releases before any one else. You can always opt out of these emails at a later date should you wish.

“Thanks for your support, and enjoy the music! - P&V”

Drop a file here or click to upload Choose File
Maximum upload size: 14.68MB