The Rolling Stones – On Air (Released 1st December)

£27.99 – Gatefold, heavy-weight double vinyl (deluxe track listing) – Orange Sleeve

The Rolling Stones – On Air, is a  collection of rarely heard radio recordings from their formative years. The songs, including eight the band have never recorded or released commercially, were originally broadcast on bygone UK BBC shows such as Saturday Club, Top Gear, Rhythm and Blues and The Joe Loss Pop Show between 1963 and 1965.

Released  on heavy-weight double vinyl. These flashbacks offer an insight into the band as a vital and constantly surprising live unit.
Such was the frequency with which they visited BBC studios in the 60’s, the group constantly set out to offer listeners something different. As well as songs that never appeared on singles or albums, there are seven tracks that were debuted over the airwaves
before featuring on albums or EPs.

The group’s take on familiar R&B staples like Roll Over Beethoven, Memphis, Tennessee and ‘Beautiful Delilah’ (all originated by Chuck Berry) illustrate the verve and energy the Stones regularly brought to their live shows. The BBC would urge them to perform their current singles, and while happy to do so they also relished the opportunity to showcase a fuller picture of their prowess as Britain’s foremost blues outfit, packing clubs and ballrooms night after night.

Among the thirty-two tracks, first heard ringing out of transistor radios over a period of just under two years, is Come On, the group’s debut single and also the first number laid down for the iconic Saturday Club, hosted by the late, legendary Brian Matthew.  Other highlights include the strutting Fannie Mae (originally recorded by bluesman Buster Brown in 1959), Tommy Tucker’s Hi Heel Sneakers, and Bo Diddley’s Cops And Robbers.

Nestling among the illustrious and well-chosen cover versions, are raw and vibrant renditions of Stones Jagger/Richards originals, such as (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction, The Last Time and The Spider And The Fly in a form closer to the thrilling immediacy of the band’s live shows than on vinyl. These recordings bring the listener as near as possible to the excitement of the era without actually being there in person.

If last year’s collection of new recordings of past masters Blue & Lonesome presented the Stones returning to their roots after more than Fifty years, On Air is the perfect ‘sister’ compendium, a lovingly curated and restored treasure trove that puts the listener front and centre in the eye of the original storm.

To help recapture the spirit of the songs when they were first performed, the tapes have gone through a process called “audio source separation”, which involved de-mixing the transcripts and allowing engineers at Abbey Road access to the original instrumentation and voices within each track, so that they could be rebuilt, rebalanced and remixed to achieve a fuller, more substantial sound.

The end result is the Stones at their most passionate and intense, transporting listeners back to the band’s lean and hungry years when their standing as household names was already assured, and global domination was just twelve bars away.

The variety of radio shows from which the material is compiled is testament to the special relationship the Stones had with the BBC from the very beginning of their recording career. The music speaks for itself, but On Air also serves as an important historical artefact, and an essential of the group’s impressively evergreen canon.

On Air offer a unique insight into the formative days of The Rolling Stones a few years before ‘The Greatest Rock ‘n’ Roll Band in the World’ became a reality this was a band playing the music they loved so much – Blues, R&B, Soul and even the odd country song. Performing these songs night after night in clubs and dancehalls meant they are all honed to perfection and performed with the genuine love and affection that The Stones have for their musical heritage.

1. Come On – Saturday Club, 26 October 1963
2. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction – Saturday Club, 18 September 1965
3. Roll Over Beethoven – Saturday Club, 26 October 1963
4. The Spider And The Fly – Yeah Yeah, 30 August 1965
5. Cops And Robbers – Blues in Rhythm, 9 May 1964
6. It’s All Over Now – The Joe Loss Pop Show, 17 July 1964
7. Route 66 – Blues in Rhythm, 9 May 1964
8. Memphis, Tennessee – Saturday Club, 26 October 1963
9. Down The Road Apiece – Top Gear, 6 March 1965
10. The Last Time – Top Gear, 6 March 1965
11. Cry To Me – Saturday Club, 18 September 1965
12. Mercy, Mercy – Yeah Yeah, 30 August 1965
13. Oh! Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin’) – Saturday Club, 18 September 1965
14. Around And Around – Top Gear, 23 July 1964
15. Hi Heel Sneakers – Saturday Club, 18 April 1964
16. Fannie Mae – Saturday Club, 18 September 1965
17. You Better Move On – Blues in Rhythm, 9 May 1964
18. Mona – Blues In Rhythm, 9 May 1964

Bonus Tracks (Deluxe)
19. I Wanna Be Your Man – Saturday Club, 8 February 1964
20. Carol – Saturday Club, 18 April 1964
21. I’m moving On – The Joe Loss Pop Show , 10 April 1964
22. If You Need Me – The Joe Loss Pop Show, 17 July 1964
23. Walking The Dog – Saturday Club, 8 February 1964
24. Confessin’ The Blues – The Joe Loss Pop Show, 17 July 1964
25. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love – Top Gear, 6 March 1965
26. Little By Little – The Joe Loss Pop Show, 10 April 1964
27. Ain’t That Loving You Baby – Rhythm And Blues, 31 October 1964
28. Beautiful Delilah – Saturday Club, 18 April 1964
29. Crackin’ Up – Top Gear, 23 July 1964
30. I Can’t Be Satisfied – Top Gear, 23 July 1964
31. I Just Want to Make Love To You – Saturday Club, 18 April 1964
32. 2120 South Michigan Avenue – Rhythm and Blues, 31 October 1964

Click and Collect

“Although there is no legal obligation to purchase this record, we hope and trust that you have made a commitment to collect and pay for this item in our shop. We have constructed this method of pre ordering to help provide a better service for you the loyal customer. It also helps us in buying the correct amount of records to stock, and by doing this we hope to pass on some great offers and incentives. If there are any delays, changes to price etc we will notify you by email and update you accordingly.

“By requesting our click & collect service you also agree to be added to our new release mailing list, meaning that from time to time you will receive emails notifying you of new or special vinyl releases before any one else. You can always opt out of these emails at a later date should you wish.

“Thanks for your support, and enjoy the music! - P&V”

Drop a file here or click to upload Choose File
Maximum upload size: 14.68MB